Building custom parts library

Hello,

I can not find any proper step to step guide for building custom parts such as relay, sensors etc. Is there any video tutorial which is well described the procedures?

Please let me know.
Note that I tried with Adobe Illustrator to create svg using the layers but didn’t work. I have very little knowledge in inkscape. Please enlighten me.

-Dr. Duaigee Felcon

These two tutorials apply to current Fritzing versions (most of the others are for older fritzing versions)

This Inkscape plugin makes making schematics easier (and is described in my tutorial set)

If you run in to problems post the svg or preferably the .fzpz file of the part that doesn’t work here and one of us will look it over and point out the problems.

Peter

2 Likes

You are always the pathfinder where I stuck… man. I will let you know.

I also need another thing to know is creating varient.

Suppose a relay model named “X” has 4 pins and a relay model “X_p” uses 3 pins with all same measurements. I want keep it in varient. Either an user can pick X or X_p from same relay model while he is trying to use it.

I am very good in Eagle cad software though I am using fritzing from the begging of my pcb desiging history. So Here I want to harness every possible things I can learn & help people.

Making this a variant can cause problems. Fritzing will swap the 4 pin version for the 3 pin version which in turn (if there are connections in the sketch) will break, because a connection no longer has a definition in the new part. That said, this will work by leaving the family definition in the fzp properties the same and changing the variant fields between the two parts:

<properties>
   <property name="variant">variant 1</property>
   <property name="family">Line sensor</property>

to

<properties>
   <property name="variant">variant 2</property>
   <property name="family">Line sensor</property>