PCB Outline Issues

Hello all,

I’m brand new to making custom PCB shapes. This is my first attempt, so I’m sure I messed something up. I am using Inkscape to create the svg file and used the difference tool to create the shape. I did make slight adjustments to the edges after doing the difference operation, does that effect the way Fritzing sees cutouts? After it failed to see the cutout, I tried to recreate the whole shape by doing a difference operation on a regular rectangular box to create a stencil of the image and then doing a second difference operation to create the shape again. That did not work either.

I found a post on the forum that seemed like the issue I was having but I don’t know how to implement his solution. Making cut outs in PCB

I also found this post about absolute moves vs relative move commands in the svg file but I’m not able to fully understand what he was talking about. I do see move commands in the path property of the svg file. My custom pcb outline gerber export isn’t good help

I attached my svg. Let me know if you need anything else. Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated.
remote

What Fritzing version are you using (some of the older ones have issues.) While your format isn’t quite correct it doesn’t seem to matter (at least for me on Fritzing 1.0.2 on Win10) it renders in Fritizng correctly (it complains about no cutouts, but you don’t have cutouts only an outline!)

and appears to export as a gerber correctly. This is the contour.gm1 displayed in gerbv.

Peter

Thank you Peter for taking the time to look into my issue. I have been all over these forums the last few weeks and your posts have helped me tremendously! I really admire your willingness to help others and be extremely patient with beginners. Thank you again!