Where do people share their parts?

I read a great Tutorial on Part creation;

The part in the example wasn’t the one I needed, but similar. It got me wondering; where do people share the parts they have made?

I’m looking for a very common hex buffer (4050) and I’m sure many people must have made one in the past. I can only find one on Github, but it’s not ideal for my schematic.

I don’t mind making one by following the tutorial, but where do I share it so others can use it when I’m done? Does Fritzing have a bin where amateurs (or pros) can upload their parts?

Almost everywhere :slight_smile: , the best bet is a google search like this: “fritzing part 4050” which turns up a part in the adafruit library (which they maintain and is not loaded by default to Fritzing):

Peter

Yes, that’s the one I found, the only one! :neutral_face: I thought there would be a place set up/recommended by Fritzing.

I’ve never used Github before, is this where you upload the parts you want to share to? Are there any tips how to do it?

To get a part in to core parts you need to make a pull request on github against the parts repository. I usually post the parts here in the forum (github usually bites me when I try and submit to core parts :slight_smile: .) The best bet is a google search because that catches most anything that is out there (which in logic isn’t a whole lot!) several manufacturers (adafruit, sparkfun and others) maintain their own repositories of parts but google will find them all.

Peter

Thanks, I’m just in the process of modifying your 74x125 into a 4050. I’ll post it in a new topic when I’ve done for everyone to see.

The adafruit library seems an inviting place to upload your parts. Is this similar to core parts, or is it more forgiving?

I was going to suggest either it or the 74x367 (which is hex) as a base. If you hit problems feel free to ask the subpart stuff is tricky (and not supported by parts editor as far as I know.)