Paypal payment & paywall - Fritzing status

As mentioned in this thread, one is supposed to search for “paypal” on this site to find the explanation for why Fritzing now requires a donation. The problem is that (to me) this does not produce any links with explanation (yes - I read the 11 threads that show up and none of them seem to explain what’s going on). Most of these just complain about the lack of other payment options.

Given the history of the Fritzing project where all the money people paid was siphoned to someone, but not the developers - there needs to be a proper blog post on the website - not just a Paywall with a small note. The last Blog post is from February 2017 and this makes the project look dead. You really need to clear this up properly, not just assure us “all is good and just pay”. We need to know that the money is ACTUALLY going to the right people and that there is an actual crew behind the project now.

I am a teacher that have had my students use Fritzing to document their assignments. I have always recommended the project since it aligns so closely with how students work with a breadboad (so no need to understand Schematics). I can not ask my students to pay for Fritzing - unless the Fritzing team can take the 15 minutes needed to write up a blog post explaining the current structure, what went wrong and how you are fixing it. I’m really sorry to say this, but I cannot tell my students to pay to someone that just runs with the money (as has happened before). I know there are new hands on deck, but please give us a proper assurance that this is not just another way to take money without doing anything?

I really would love to see Fritzing flourish again!