Importing PCB traces

Hello
I’m completely new to electronic drawing software. I’ve always used pencil & paper, and lots of it! Sometimes I use AutoCad to produce a professional looking drawing at the end of the process. The whole thing is very time consuming, so I’ve been looking for some software to make things easier.

A new job has force me to try and update my old ways. I need to modify 3 PCB boards on an old machine at work. I also need to produce a schematic of the circuit.

Regarding the PCB:
The PCB is double sided, built last century and full of logic ICs. I have scanned the first board and have cleaned up the track image, see attached. I’ve been looking for a way of importing this track information into PCB software to produce a netlist.

I’ve realised that there is no easy way to do this in any of the software packages I’ve looked at so far. Dia was the closest, it had an import option, but unfortunately a bug prevented it importing SVG files properly.

I’ve resigned myself to having to input the PCB tracks manually in order to back trace the schematic, but any advice would be really appreciated on automating the process of inputting the pcb tracks from a graphic.

After learning a bit about Fritzing and spending hours reading the forum, I can see how versatile the software can be. I’m impressed, so I’ve signed up :slight_smile:

Automated is going to be hard. Manual is possible, but the first item of business is going to be finding parts for all the ICs. We have some logic ICs but certainly not all of them. If you can find (or make) parts for all the parts on the board, you can move the parts in pcb view to match the above layout, then route the traces. From there Fritzing will produce the schematic (the traces will appear in schematic and breadboard which you probably don’t care about) as rats nest lines ready to be routed.

Peter

Thank you Peter,