How to split a stripboard track at an existing hole

Hi All,

I am very new to Fritzing (like today). I want to uses it to document an exist stripboard for future reference. On the physical board when I want cut the track I use a tool that splits the track at one of the existing holes. When it comes to designing the board in Fritzing I can only find a method to cut the track between two holes.

Is there a method to cut the track at a hole?

Thanks

Ernie

In fritzing, Every pin on board is labeled, so you can’t cut/remove a pin/hole…

I think you cut your track like this:

So, in this case you can only leave a hole separated in fritzing, like “2”…

Capture1

@blue is correct, the cut between two hole is all that is available. Electrically (if not exactly visually) that should do what you want however. In schematic view the two circuits will be identical.

Peter

Hi Blue & vanepp,

Thanks for your quick replies, I was being stupid the way you show is the obvious way to do it and has the correct effect.

Thanks again

Ernie

Does anyone know how to accomplish #2 above (what exactly needs be done on the keyboard and/or mouse) to create that isolated stripboard hole?

In case anyone was wondering, here’s what the missing photo looked like (it shows a drilled hole on a real perfboard): http://web.archive.org/web/20170719151438if_/https://cdn.instructables.com/FOX/RUKT/H5IRWUA6/FOXRUKTH5IRWUA6.LARGE.jpg

Workaround: Create a 1x1 header to place where a drill hole should go, by first placing a 1x2 header (Core Parts > Connection > Generic female header - 2 pins), then changing “pins” from 2 to 1 (often it will be a larger number when cutting across multiple traces). The headers appear over resistors and IC’s (good), but under wires (okay). The traces still show as active, of course, so that’s not ideal, and you really have to triple-check everything.