Stepper motor driver

Hiya all,

I am a beginner and have a large RC Crane project on my desk. I have the idea of how I want to achieve the mechanisation of the telescopic boom.
it involves 3 sets of stepper motors
1_ 2 x micro steppers ; to control the retraction of a locking pin, the motors work simultaneously in parallel
2_ 2 x micro steppers ; to control locking pins to pick up the boom section, the motors work simultaneously in parallel
3_ 1 x nema 8 ; to control the carrier that hitches to the boom section and moves it.

I need to select hardware to control these motors. I have a big easy driver but for some reason I can’t get it to work. the motors work when connected directly to my mega board but not to the driver. (sparkfun).

I would like it to be a simple set up. there is only one endstop which is for the nema 8.

I intend to control the motors based on distance to travel.

The RC component I intend to build too. idea is to use a touch screen interface to select boom sections and the location I want them to travel to.

any hardware suggestions for the drivers?

many thanks

16A9C1E3-1DB7-40EA-8C00-3D62AE9E1741

A quick look at the bigeasy says it should be easy to use. When you say “doesn’t work” that does that mean? Nothing at all happens with the motors? I’d check the state of the enable and sleep pins. If enable is high the fets are off and nothing will happen, if sleep is low same thing (fets are off, motor does nothing). If you post the Fritzing sketch of your hook up I expect one of us would point out any problems we see.

Edit: reading further down the data on the board there is also a current limiting pot, if that is set to less current than your motor needs to operate that would also cause no operation very likely.

edit2: I got this information from the Sparkfun hookup guide available here

https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/big-easy-driver-hookup-guide