Separate lines vs joined lines in Schematic

Hi. My base electronics understanding is lacking.

I’m 99% sure this article that includes node terminology has cleared up my understanding, in that connections can be drawn point-to-point (not common), or as the more common ‘distributed node’ schematic and they mean the same thing:

As an absolute beginner, point to point currently works better for my brain - so could someone do a sanity check for me and confirm that these 2 schematics I have drawn are equivalent:
(I can upload the fritzing files if preferred).

Many thanks!

It is preferable to upload the .fzz files for the two sketches so we can see the actual sketches. That said this Fritzing feature will help you do this for yourself. Here I left mouse clicked on the A0 pin of the Arduino. That lights everything connected to the pin in yellow, indicating that, yes this particular set of connections is identical to your split apart image (that doesn’t always need to be true, there are connections which will look the same but not be correctly connected!)

Peter

protection.fzz (8.7 KB)
protection-separate-lines.fzz (8.4 KB)

Hi, I’ve uploaded the .fzz files now in this reply.

Could you elaborate on the last part of your last sentence - that “there are connections which will look the same but not be correctly connected”? What might be an example of this?

Thanks, Adam

Yes the two sketches are identical. If you left click on a connection the same pins in both light yellow indicating the connections are the same. This sketch looks mostly identical to the original but is not (and is the most common case of this problem!)

However when I use the click on a pin method we see the connections are quite different

the diodes are connected together and look like they should connect to the resistor capacitor and micro pin but in fact do not connect. This trips new users up all the time.