Seeking Advice On PCB

Hello All!

I’ve tinkered with electronics for a few months and I’m totally hooked! I’ve mainly been working on creating remote controlled cars with different types of Arduinos and NRF24l01 transceivers. I’ve successfully created a couple different breadboard designs and decided to try and create a custom PCB for the remote transmitter. I hope to make the car receiver PCB in the future. I’m a complete beginner at PCB design and I would love some feedback.

Here is a description of the remote. The 3 JST connectors will go to an 18650 battery pack, a WS2812 with 10 LEDs at half power and a small 8ohm 1 or 3W speaker. I plan on using an NRF24l01 as a transmitter and take user inputs through 2 10k Joysticks, 2 10k potentiometers to control servos, a gyroscope for tilt controls and 2 buttons for sounds/music. There will be an SD card for playing sounds that are triggered by different events. I will have a plastic cover attached to the drill holes on the 4 corners to protect the electronics and mount the battery pack, speaker and lights to. I’ve laid this out on a breadboard and tested all the different components successfully (minus the lights).

Remote.fzz (51.4 KB)
Here are some newbie uneducated questions and concerns I have with my design:

1.) I’ve been watching some PCB design videos and had a question about ground planes as it relates to my project. I routed all my ground connections but can I just do a ground fill and remove all my routed ground connections with no issues in my design?