Search function in the parts view does not work

Steps I took that resulted in the problem:

When I click on the magnifier symbol I cannot type in anything.

What I expected should have happened instead:

I expected that this happens what is written in the “Tips and Tricks”:
“Can’t find your part? Search for it by clicking the magnifier icon in the Parts Bin and type in some keywords”

My version of Fritzing and my operating system:

Version 0.9.3

Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1 64 Bit

Please also attach any files that help explaining this problem

May be I should have mentioned that I’m a newbie. Do I understand something completly wrong?

Sounds right, click on the magnifier on the left column of the Parts panel box, this is selecting the search bin, type in, and press return.

Mine works and I have V0.9.3 Win7 64 SP1.

I don’t know if patches were made for the W10 bug, so your download is different, but maybe unstall and download and install again.

Tryed it again but it still doesn’t work with version “fritzing.0.9.3b.64.pc”.

My FZ 0.9.3 is 300k smaller, so I assume it’s different, but it’s kind-of odd no one else has the problem. Did you try a re-install.

Ok, I installed the new V0.9.3 on another PC and I had to add the MS api file that most people are missing - my other PC didn’t need it - and I rebooted, It looked like it froze, but FZ now accesses the internet a lot so you have to wait until things happen, and your firewall must give it clearance. After everything is installed it starts normally.

My search is working. Are you sure FZ isn’t uploading making it look like it’s not responding? Does the rest work?

Yes, everything works. Only the search function doesn’t. It still stays grey.

I found this.

http://fritzing.org/forum/thread/6141/

No, I see the magnifier but it is not working.

I tried the 32bit version. But this also does not work.

Hi, for me the same, I click to Search and nothing heppens.

Windows 10 64x