Run inside QTCreator

Hi,

after a few hours of struggling with just about anything, I’ve managed to build a win32 version with QTCreator.
I’ve used the following run arguments (with my paths) the first time to create the db:
-f “/path/to/fritzing-app/” -parts “/path/to/fritzing-parts/” -db “/path/to/fritzing-parts/parts.db”

and now the db exists. Then I’ve removed the -db argument anc when I run Fritzing I get
the following error inside the “Application output” window:

ASSERT: “!“Tspans should be drawn through QSvgText::draw().”” in file c:\users\qt\work\qt\qtsvg\src\svg\qsvggraphics_p.h, line 218
The program has unexpectedly finished.
The process was ended forcefully.
F:/fritzing-app-master/debug32/Fritzing.exe crashed

Any idea?
Many thanks,
Giovanni Romeo

I will start by saying I am a Linux user and have only built from the command line so I have no experience with QTCreator.

With that said I have a few things to check.

What version of QTCreator are you using? As the build instructions say it was built based on 5.6 so the newer version may not work and it would be worth trying 5.6 if you have used a newer version.

While building on Linux there seems to be a bug where Fritzing will only run properly once after building and after that it complains that it can not find the parts. But if you build a release using the release script it runs perfectly every time. So maybe trying building a release to see if that solves it for you.

Thanks for your reply.
I’ve compiled using QT 5.10, I hope you’re right and the problem is only the QT version.

I’ll try that tomorrow (it’s night here…).
If that’ll work I’ll try to fix an issue I’m having with 0.9.3b (there’s no parts search text field, only the search bin).

Many thanks,
Giovanni Romeo

Great news, I’m able to compile and run it! :grinning:

I’ve set the project to use QT 5.6, did a "fresh "clean & build and now it’s running.

Giovanni Romeo