Question about origin in PCB view

Why is the origin in the PCB view in the UPPER left corner???

This is a bit weird since other programs I work with have the origin in the LOWER left corner.
Not sure if this is a bug, since it all seems to work OK, but it is a bit unexpected / confusing.

Now i’m aware of this it shouldn’t make a difference
Still I would like to suggest to place a dark red dot at the origin (50 % opacity or in a lower layer).
That eventually can be toggled off. (I think i suggested this before but i can’t find that post)

You are right… it is kind of weird… there must be a method to his madness. My background is CAD/CAM… 0,0 is in the lower left. +Y is up and +X is right… weird… :confused:

It’s just that, Fritzing is also a CAD program…

I hope this doesn’t cause any issues in the long run.

I wouldnt find it strange if this is causing side effects. Say you have a bunch of parts pads traces all aligned to bottom left and you rescale the zoom of scroll over a page that re-renders to an upper left origin.

Hmm could this be related to that bug that many people experience when you need to save the project and re-start the application?
Wild guess… but my feeling tells me I to mention it anyway.

Think: pre-emptive multitasking
One calculating positions from bottom left and the other thread from upper left, then timing is crucial…

Should I change this topic from whislist to bug?

You’re making no sense here. Why would calculations be based in one instance from the top left and in another instance (or thread) be base on the opposite? Why would the origin position have any impact on any calculations? It’s all depends on the context an in your case you’re comparing it to your experiences with CAD software. I come from a graphics background and having the origin in the top-left corner makes complete sense to me. From a program point of view it makes no difference, it’s all numbers anyway.