Pins on custom part won't directly connect to breadboard

Hi - I’m new to Fritzing but trying to learn to make my own parts. I’ve successfully created the part (a DC-DC buck converter) and it connects to pins/breadboard sockets if I use wires in the breadboard view. However it won’t directly connect to the breadboard the way typical components do. It looks like everything lines up and I know I used a .1 in pitch in the svgs, but for some reason it just won’t connect…I’m not getting the green lightup indicators on the breadboard. Could someone take a look and let me know what I’m doing wrong?

Thanks!

Evan!

Breadboard_Snip

DROK Mini DC-DC Buck converter.fzpz (15.9 KB)

The breadboard connector pins are marked as “female”, only “male” pins will connect directly to those. The connectors in your part are marked as “female”.

In addition:

You have a “copper0” layer specified in the part definition (fzp) file, but no matching id exists in the pcb file. The easiest fix is probably to change (in the pcb svg file) the “copper1” layer to copper0, then change “layer2” to “copper1”.

The pcb svg file has a rect element with an id of “silkscreen”. “silkscreen” should be on a group (g) element instead. Remove the existing id, then change “layer3” to “silkscreen”.

The breadboard svg file does not contain an id to match the “breadboard” layer specified in the definition file. Change “layer1” to “breadboard”.

The schematic svg file does not contain an id to match the “schematic” layer specified in the definition file. Change “layer1” to “schematic”.

Without the schematic and breadboard layer ids, the part will work in the Fritzing application, but the part will be dropped when exporting to an svg image.

That is a lot less errors than a typical “first part”.