Parts apart from the PCB

Hi there,

absolute beginner here.

I want to create a PCB Layout, which is connected to several external parts (NTP to measure temperature away from the PCB, external Power Source).

What is the correct workflow?

1. Breadboard view:
    No problem here, i can connect all the parts. When I add Pin headers to the PCB to connect the external parts, they appear here as well.

2. Schematics:
    At first I can connect everything, but when I add Pin Headers to the PCB, they appear here and are unconnected.

3. PCB:
    I add Pin headers to connect the external Parts. Now I am unsure if i have to connect the air wires, as I do not want to mill them. They should be physical wires to an external part.

In the end, I have a working PCB design, which I can mill, but it is rather unsettling, that there are the unconnected Pinheaders in the Breadboard and schematics view and the air wires in the PCB View.

I guess my workflow isn’t quite as intended. Maybe someone could help me out!

Best regards
Samuel

You need to connect wires between the place on the board where the NTP should connect via the pin header to the pin header (which it sounds like what is missing.) It is however impossible to say from an explanation. Your best bet is to upload the sketch file (the .fzz file, upload is 7th icon from the left in the reply menu) so we can see the sketch and comment on problems and solutions.

Peter

Thanks for your fast feedback!

I will attach the file but also screenshots, for others to quickly recognize my problem.

Images are in replies as I can’t post multiple media files as new User.

Thank you for your help!

Fritzing file
fritzing-beispiel.fzz (18.2 KB)

Breadboard view: Wires as if I would prototype this without PCB (a lot of air wires appear with the pin headers)

Schematics: Only the connections between the parts are set, but not the ones to the pin headers

PCB: The PCB is like intended, but the external parts are connected via airwires.