Mac OS X Big Sur (11.0.1) and fritzing?

Is there a version of fritzing that runs on the latest Mac OS, which is currently Big Sur (11.0.1)? I’d like to support the project and pay the fee, but there’s no sense in doing so if it won’t run on Big Sur, at least for me.

1 Like

I’m using Mac OS Big Sur right now on my Mac book Pro with the version 0.9.4 of Fritzing.
It is running quite well, a few bugs from time to time but nothing serious, just save and close and re-open it. I’m new to PCB design but as was able to produce something acceptable.

1 Like

That is good to know. Thank you for sharing.

Yes, thank you for the confirmation…

I tried my first go on Fritzing using OSBigSur 11.1
The breadboard view worked ok but when I looked at Schematic and PCB it couldn’t autoroute and produced complete nonsense…

Autoroute is not very smart. What it tends to create is very messy looking. Not usually nonsense though.

Note that autoroute only does anything with wires/traces. It does not move parts around. If you created your project completely in breadboard view (what it seems like, and a valid path), the parts in the other views will be in random locations, including on top of each other. They need to be unstacked, moved, rotated to someplace reasonable before autoroute has a chance to do anything close to correct.

I have never tried autoroute on schematic view.

Has anyone been able to successfully download a part from the internet then use it on your breadboard? Every time I try to do it, my parts bin is super buggy and so is the part. (On macOS Big Sur 11.1)