How to create a custom component for fritzing

Hi,

i am new to PCB layout and fritzing and i could not figure out how to create a layout for this component. Where can i find solid information on how to create custom components.

Thanks a lot.

That’s a hard one.

I know its not very helpful, but I think the holes are a hard one to do. I have been trying to do some SMD layouts all day in Firtzing and the best source I have found is here.

But it may help you do everything you need, but its a place to start.

A.

Thank you for your answer. Good to know that i am not the only one having a hard time to understand frizzing and custom parts.

I was able to make some parts last night that are close to yours.

I may try to make a video on how I did it, but here is the basic outline.

1. find a part that is close to the one you need. If you need mounting holes and contact points than I suggest you search for the PCB layout of the BNC connector in your parts>svg>core>pcb folder.

2. open the svg in Inkscape and look at the XML editor. find the lines that control the holes, and the contacts.

3. Open the part again notepad++ and copy and paste the components that you need more of. (change some ID’s and some X and Y coordinates.)

4. Back in inkscape open the XML editor and click on a line to edit it.

I was able to make the PCB outline for this SMA connector,

http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&itemSeq=186248246&uq=635864768755049218

I also this this Inkscape and notepad++ to make some SMD layouts. (VSSOP-10 and TSSOP - 16).

I know this is vague, but maybe it helps.

1 Like

2 more things.

1. Save your SVG’s in Inkscape as plain SVG’s. (wasted a day on that)

2. You can edit the Schematics in Inkscape using the XML editor. This helps to keep everything clean.

1 Like

Thank you very much. The BNC connector hint did really help a lot.

Were you able to get your part working?