Hi hat controller sketch

I have a pedal that uses a FSR connected to pin (A0) and a drum pad that uses a piezo connected to pin (A1). I want the drum pad to switch between 3 midi notes by varying the value of pin (A0) with the pedal. Is it possible to read 2 analog pins simultaneously?

You can read one analog value and then right after it the other analog value but not both at once. However reading one after the other may be close enough to simultaneous for your purpose. Try it and see.

Peter

Thanks for responding, I’m not experienced with code at all, I was able to get all the drum pads to work just by pasting this block of code over and over and changing the pin and note numbers. I don’t understand why the code works or how it can be somewhat velocity sensitive using the ‘‘while’’ statement but it works unless I can find a better way. I was able to get the FSR pedal to trigger 1 note by changing (val > 600) to (val < 10) but I’m not sure how to get it to trigger the second note which is triggered when the pedal is tapped down lightly and very quickly released mimicking a mechanical hi hat splash.
I’m grateful for any idea how to accomplish this.

{

int val;
val = analogRead(A0);
if (val > 600) { // if it is greater than the threshold
noteOn(0, 50, 127); // send a note on message the 68 is the pitch of the note
MidiUSB.flush(); // send the MIDI message
while (analogRead(A0) > 600) { } // wait here until the signal has dropped
noteOff(0, 50, 127); // send the note off message
}

If there’s a better way to write this, feel free to make corrections or suggestions.