Help with circuit design please

Hi, I’m fairly new to electronics so I appreciate any help I can get.

I’m trying to design a circuit that can provide a constant current of about 50 microamperes (μA) to the anode, using a 1.5V battery.

I was trying to test it in the simulator with a Multimeter, but I think I’m not doing it correctly, only getting Err. I’m also not sure if I placed the cathode correctly in the design.

I uploaded the design in case someone can check it out.

Thanks!

MicroAmp Device 05.fzz (6.9 KB)

For starters your battery is hooked up backwards (which is likely to destroy the op amp!) Pin 4 should be the positive pin of the battery not the negative.

It is unclear what the mystery part is supposed to be or do, it currently doesn’t connect to anything. As a result there isn’ t much to say about this circuit.

edit:

As well the lm324 does not have spice data in the part and thus won’t be simulated, so the simulation is unlikely to actually work even if the circuit is corrected.

the simulation is a work in progress and currently has some limitations.

Peter

1 Like

Thank you very much Peter, that was very helpful. Good thing I asked before I hooked it up. Between the anode and the cathode should be a poorly healing wound, such as a diabetic ulcer. I’m a physician, not an electronics engineer, so I really appreciate the help.

Will that design get me the 50 microamps continually? If I build it on a breadboard, how should I place the multimeter to test it?

Thanks again.