Fritzing and Illustrator

I am very new to designing PCBs, I am creating a custom PCB board shape in Adobe Illustrator. In my illustrator file I have all of the places where I need copper ring holes on the circuit board to go for mounting an Arduino Nano and a few other things. I have imported the board into Fritzing (with the board and silkscreen layers), my question is how do I know where the copper ring holes should go on the board? How do I connect the holes together with a path? Do I just have to drag and drop dozens of holes over where I’ve marked them in Illustrator?

You only need Illustrator (or Inkscape) to create or edit parts. There is an Arduino nano part in core parts (and you can sometimes find parts that aren’t in parts by doing a google search of the form “fritzing part part-name” where part-name is the part you need. That said, drag the nano from the arduino section in to breadboard, along with a led and resistor and connect them up:

Then switch to pcb view where the connections in breadboard appear as rats nest lines:

click and drag on a rats nest line and it creates the trace (you can also click on a pin in pcb and create a trace to another pin)

this is all in the documentation.

Peter

I think the original question was about a custom PCB shape, and getting creating mounting holes in the right sizes and places.

It takes some work, but it is possible to create holes in the custom board shape. I do not know a way to have those plated through though. So the general answer is to use the “hole” object provided by Fritzing core library. You can include silk screen guide marks so show where the holes need to go.

You said “dozens of holes”. You should not have that many added holes. Are these the connections, not mounting holes? If so, parts with through-hole connects placed on the board include the holes. They can also include mounting holes, but that is less common.