Deleting surplus bins

I am using Fritzing in Linux - Ubuntu 22. My installation uses appImage.

I do not need many of the bins - there are many that I will simply never use.

If I right click on a bin, the option to ‘delete bin’ is greyed out. (In fact ‘close bin’ ‘save bin’ and ‘rename bin’ are also greyed out.

Why is this and how do I fix it?

FYI I have tried it on a number of bins - same issue…

Thanks

Since no one with more knowledge is replying, I’ll have a bash (although I am not an expert on bins.) I suspect the core bins are locked out from modification likely because they are compiled in to the code. If that is the case (which I’m not sure of) it will take a code change to remove the bins. Hopefully someone has a better answer (or can confirm this one if it is correct!)

Peter

Thanks for this Peter

I was starting to suspect that these bins are ‘baked in’.

It is a shame that there are some critical issues, the answer to which seem so hidden or at least hard to find.

I did some digging on this issue. On my AppImage Fritzing, I can find the Fritzing.conf file.

It is in ~/.config/Fritzing.

In there is the Fritzing.conf file. The bins are referenced in a series of numbered lines.

So I deleted references to a particular bin in the config file. When I restart Fritzing, the bin remains and it has been added BACK to the config file.

I tried again, making the config read-only.

The bin STILL reappears!

I am assuming that the cionfig simpy allows a fast loading of bins, but that Fritzing anyway does a ‘bin scan’ somewhere.

I suspect that the ‘somewhere’ is in the appimage…

Honestly, what I am trying to do is not unreasonable. The standard Fritzing install comes with a bunch of bins that I will NEVER use - the program even gives a function to delete them. But it is greyed out…