Clearing modified PCB layout

I’m still learning so my apologies if this is answered some place else. I’ve looked but didn’t find it.

I have a circuit that was breadboarded, then turned into a schematic and then I created the PCB layout from it.

Like anything else, I fiddled with the PCB design to see what happens. But, now I want to wipe the fiddled version, and remove all the changes I created and let the PCB design subsystem start again with a clean slate.

I’m not sure how to do this. Anyone got a suggestion?

It seems like I should be able to do something simple like “erase the pcb” and put a new blank into place then ask it to run the parts layout and routing all again. I just can’t sort out how yet.

Thanks for everyone’s time.

I don’t think there is auto placement, is there?
In any case, you cannot “erase the PCB”. The three views are connected. If you remove a part from one view (PCB) it also deleted from the others. It is all one circuit, just three different views.

What you can do, is delete all the traces in the PCB view, and then let the autorouter run again. For that, select Routing->Select All Traces and then Edit->Delete.

To remove all the traces in pcb click Routing and then select all traces, then hit the delete key. That will erase all the traces leaving you with the rats nest lines from the other two views. Click on a rats nest line to create the trace, then move it to be routed how you wish (clicking on the rats nest line will connect the trace to the right place according to Fritzing.)

Peter

Clearing the traces isn’t the issue. Resetting the component placement is.

If I create a new project, breadboard a dozen components, generate a schematic then go to the PCB tab, a board with the components laid out is presented.

This tells me, that at some point, there was an initial layout (and decisions) about board size and locations made. Right, wrong, optimized or not, there was a state 0 point in the design process.