Adafruit PermaProto board

Hi, Anyone know if it is possible to “cut” the tracks of the PermaProto board in Fritzing just as it would be if building a project in the real world?

On a “stripboard”, clicking on a trace between holes cuts the trace. Clicking again puts it back.

What Fritzing part are you using for a “permaproto” board? The search tool does not find anything to match. If you are using a part from somewhere else, we need access to that to be able to make suggestions.

Hello microMerlin, Thank you for your prompt response to my question.

I did in fact find the permaproto board in the Adafruit section of the Fritzing parts list. There are three of them, full size, half size & “Mint Tin” size. Unfortunately, for me, the track does not appear to cut in the manner you describe when using strip board. I have built a project that required me to cut the track of one of the Positive rails on the side of the PermaProto board. I am a novice when it comes to drawing schematics for my projects and Fritzing seems to fit the bill very well. I have made schematic of this project by placing a component (voltage regulator) to the side of the ProtoBoard and then wiring it to the board, whereas in reality by cutting the Positive rail I was able to solder the regulator directly onto rails. This allows the project to fit into a smaller and neater enclosure.

Since the Adafruit bin is not part of the core parts library, it is unlikely that traces can be cut like on the perfboard. I believe this will require some coded-in support only available to core parts, not to user parts.

Thank you for the reply.

Adafruit parts are not part of the basic Fritzing library. You must have imported the bin from the Adafruit repository. Since those parts only exist for people that have also imported that bin, you needed to include those details when asking questions about them. So that others know what is needed to be able to reproduce what you are describing.