Schematic to breadboard layout

Hello, I’m fairly new to Arduino. I use to make breadboard layouts and circuits a few year back. Only recently I have started to do it again. I’ve done a few different little projects to try and get back into it. But I’m trying to put this schematic of a loop pedal on breadboard and I’m struggling a little got a few of the components on but unsure as to where everything should go. for the pedals I am just using the little pushbuttons. Just wanting to test it out first. I was just wondering if someone could help me out? and show me where each thing should go on something like fritzing or any other software. I seem to struggle a little reading schematic diagrams. All help would be great! thanks. I’m following this tutorial https://www.instructables.com/id/DIY-Chewie-Monsta-Ed-Sheeran-Loop-Pedal/?ALLSTEPS

1 Like

First thing to note is that Fritzing has a bug which tends to corrupt sketches if you make changes in multiple views. So start in one view (since you have a schematic I’d start there) and then follow the rats nest lines to make the connections in breadboard. The first thing I note is that he is using a bare 328 rather than an Arduino, if you are using an Arduino board you don’t need the power supply stuff on the left (the connectors 7805 and diode) as at least the Uno already has them. you also don’t need the crystal or caps by the 328 chip as the Arduino already has those as well. So from the fritzing parts library you need the midi connector, the resistor and led and the push buttons. You need to translate the pins on the 328 chip (hopefully with the standard names) to the Arduino (Uno, mini etc) that you are using (they are again in the parts library)