Just thinking, fritzing is actually not opensource anymore

i create this account just to share my thoughts

i used fritzing some years ago maybe 3-4 times just to view a copule files, i am not a developer nor an electronic guy, so i won’t use fritzing intensively or even less will compile it, so i don’t think i must pay for the light use i could do to it

what could happen now that have to pay to download the executables?.. is funny, supposedly fritzing is open source, but now you could find it “pirated” from many download sites… and developer can’t do nothing because fritzing is supposedly “open source” and offer binaries by “donations”

i understand “donations” like if a homeless man or an organization ask for money and i give them a “donation”, i am not obligated to give them money so he couldn’t try to manipulating me in any way to obligating me to give them money, because a donation is VOLUNTEER… so this is actually not a “donation” but a BUY

i see developer choose a path similar to redhat… until still open source, redhat linux was once totally free (as in freedom and as in free beer) with every versions and files freely downloadable… but a couple decades ago they switched to a business model where they SELL THE BINARIES, they are still open “source” in the sense the source code needed to build those binaries are still publicly available without any restriction (that is for there exists derivated projects like centos or fedora)

that means: “you can build the latest version by yourself for free(dom)” “by downloading the source code, the compiler, the libraries, setting the environment, research how to do it, invest time, etc etc”… … “OR… skip all headaches and time and BUY an already-compiled binary from us”