Use a microcontroller to activate an optocoupler connected to 555 timer

I’m trying to use a microcontroller to activate an optocoupler connected to 555 timer which is connected to a MOSFET. The circuit will drive a solenoid which draws 2amps at 12v. I’m new to circuit design but have combined a few schematics I have found to come up with the one below. I think I have some resistor values wrong, and I’m unsure if the 555 can drive the MOSFET directly???

5ms pulse fom micro converted to .5 second pulse by monostable 555

R1 470 ohm 1/4 watt) (R2 2.2k 1/4 watt) (R3 470 ohm 1/4 watt) (R4 45k 1/4 watt) (R5 2.2k 1/4 watt(Micro controller to opto =5v) (555timer, MOSFET, Solenoid =12v)

(MOSFET=1PP096N03L) (555= TLC555) (optocoupler=PC817)

• IPP096N03L
  • Solenoid is 130ft. of 30AWG magnet wire. 13.4 Ohms

The solenoid in this circuit is coupled with another solenoid, connected to an identical circuit as this one, except their polarity is reversed. So one circuit magnetizes the core in one direction and the other circuit magnetizes it in the reverse. Since they are coupled, one circuit will create current in the other right? Does that cause any problems, or will it be shunted by the diode (BY229)?

Another thing I was thinking about is having an H bridge connected to the 555 and using the same solenoid, instead of having two. I’m trying to keep the cost down as I need a number of these circuits, and an H bridge design seems to be more expensive from what I can find. Thanks

For reference, I’ve found some article about optocoupler,MOSFET and microcontrollers in an electronic blog named kynix electronic blog. You can have a read if you need.