Fritzing too slow

Hi there,
firstly, I am completely new to Fritzing. But now I want to document my several Arduino breadboarded projects by an appropriate tool…which is obviously Fritzing…

I am running an AMD64 computer with lubuntu 17.04 32MB of ram and sufficient processing capacity…this is for sure not the bottleneck of the following issue.

Fritzing responsivenes is that slow, that it can’t be used at all to to design circuits. I tried to install it via apt and manually by downloading/installing the most recent bz2 archive… nothing helps…even the hints given in this forum (enlarge grid size) have not helped.

Can anybody point me in the right direction to get that issue resolved?

Many many thanks in advance!
Michael

Go to View/Set Grid Size, and select something courser like 0.025".

Can you give us some information about what is happening? Does it take a long time for the mouse to respond? Do searches take forever? What exactly are the symptoms that you are referring to as slow? Does it become unresponsive for a long time after start up (parts updates make it unresponsive for a few minutes and you must let them complete).

…initially, meaning the first element (ie. ESP32 chip, downloaded from git) let it self move easily. The the GUI gets slower and slower after the seconed element in on the board…wiring almost impossible. It takes the system, said that, endlessly to respond on the next moving acitivity, respectively anoher wiring approach.
I tried the whole thing on an iMac and faced the same…let me know whether I shall catch any logs…please advice for that.
Kr,
Michael
BTW: Parts update takes time…ok…bit I would expect that only for the inital load and not during design with that long delay…

That is correct. It should only be unresponsive on startup until it has updated the parts. After that it should run well.