Downloading & installing Fritzing on Ubuntu Linux problem

After successfully using Fritzing on an Ubuntu Linux computer & designing a few PCB’s, I decided to update Fritzing to the latest Fritzing Version - Ver 0.9.3b.linux.AMD64 tar.b.bzz (Linux64bit)

Can someone please let me know how to un-rar & install the Tar program & into what folder.
I have tried several times without success but there are many options & I have had no experience with rar files & also I am new to Ubuntu Linux.
Preferably is a version of Fritzing available which can be simply downloaded and installed without it being in a compressed form.

Just go on Download page, and select Linux (64bits).
File name should be ‘fritzing-0.9.3b.linux.AMD64.tar.bz2’

It can be extracted with standard uncompress tool (I have used Ark without difficulty).
Or you can do it in command line:
tar xj fritzing-0.9.3b.linux.AMD64.tar.bz2

Most good Linux distros will have an “Extract Here” if you right click on the downloaded file. File name noted above. From there, go into the sub directory which was created when you do the Extract Here command. In that directory, there should be a fritzing install file. Press the F4 should open the command line tool. From there you can then install the program. I have it on my laptop which is with me. Let me pull out get the file names for the installation and I will reply again.

A simple get you up and running…

I’m going to assume we are working in your ‘USERNAME’ home folder. I’m going to call it wali ie;
/home/wali
Now change directory to your downloaded files. This should be where your file was naturally downloaded to. Open a terminal can cd to that folder ie;

cd ~/Downloads

that should leave you in the directory

/home/wali/Downloads

then extract that file with this command

unzip -xzf fritzing-0.9.3b.linux.AMD64.tar.bz2

then change to the fritzing working directory ie;

cd /home/wali/Downloads/fritzing-0.9.3b.linux.AMD64/

The exectute fritzing
./Fritzing

or